The members of the Marc de Smidt thesis award are all alumni of Human Geography and Spatial Planning, covering a broad range of topics and fields of expertise:

Martijn Smit

Assistant professor in economic geography specialized in working from home and in clusters, chairperson of the MdS thesis Award

Irina van Aalst

Programme Director Master Human Geography, former chairperson of the MdS thesis Award

Karin Snel

Postdoctoral researcher at the University of Twente and Project leader at the Water Authority Drents Overijsselse Delta – Planning expert

Bert-Jan Ottens

Founder and owner of Profound advisers in Development – natural ingredients trade promotion and developing sustainable value chains.

Lilian Bosten

Founder and owner of Dimensus policy research – public policy expert

Hans Verhorst

Secretary at the Audit Office of the gemeente Zeist.

Vera Berkers

Policy advisor housing municipality of Amsterdam

Ymke Elfring

Project manager area development municipality of Rotterdam

Egbert van der Zee

Senior advisor tourism and leisure at Utrecht municipality, former chairperson of the MdS thesis Award

Anna Fial

Student assistant & Human Geography and Planning student